Thursday, 3 October 2013

Short Hand Snugs and an after thought thumb!

 This morning I submitted a free pattern in to Raverly called “short Hand Snugs” the original pattern  has just a gap for the thumb which is absolute fine, but for those of you who like to have the bottom of your thumb in closed, I am going to show you how easy it is to create an afterthought thumb!

Once you have sewn up the side and left a gap for your thumb, grab same small Double pointed needles mine are about 4 inches long and I am using 3.5mm.

Using your  2 DPN’s and pick up 5 stitches along the side’s and start knitting across the top, then you’re going to pick up and knit a further 2 stitches with your 3rd to bridge the gap.
Knit the remaining 5 stitches and pick up another 2 stitches to bridge the gap on the other side, this will then form your tube.







I knit seven rounds in total before binding off. You can slip on and off to gauge length as you knit! You may want to use a small marker as well to mark the beginning of each round.
Voila you now have a thumb J

The full Pattern for the Short Hand Snugs is as follows 



These short hand warmers are knitted flat, then sewn up at the side leaving a gap for the thumb.
I am using 50g of DK Bigwigs Angora yarn, but you can use any weight yarn and just add more rows to adjust size.
Needle 4.mm (6)
Skill: Easy! If you can do Knit, Purl and Bind off, then you can knit this pattern!
Stitch used is Double Moss and is made of four rows to complete the stitch pattern.

Cast on 37 stitches (I use the long tail method)
Row 1, *K1 P1 to end, finishing with a K1
Row 2, Repeat Row 1
Row 3, *P1 K1 to end finishing with a P1
Row 4, Repeat row 3
Repeat Rows 1-4 a further 5 times. (Or until the knitted fabric covers the top of your hand)
Row 24, K
Row 25, P
Row 26, k
Row, 27 P
Row, 28 K
Row, 29 P
Row 30, K
Row 31, P
Row 32, K
Row 33, P
Row 34 , *K1 P1 to end finishing with K1
Row 35, *K1 P1 to end finishing with K1
Row 36, *K1 P1 to end finishing with K1
Row 37, BO
Finishing: Sew up sides leaving gap for your thumb, sew in ends.


Enjoy 

Danielle xx

19 comments:

  1. Nice! Thanks for posting that pattern.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Just what I've been looking for, Many Thanks xx

    ReplyDelete
  3. Quester is a Pakistan-based questioning answering website where people can ask questions and we try our best to provide them with the best answers. Anyone can ask any legit question in English or Roman Urdu and we provide answers in the same language format. www.quester.pk

    ReplyDelete
  4. Quester is a Pakistan-based questioning answering website where people can ask questions and we try our best to provide them with the best answers. Anyone can ask any legit question in English or Roman Urdu and we provide answers in the same language format. www.quester.pk

    ReplyDelete
  5. This blog is so nice to me. I will continue to come here again and again. Visit my link as well. Good luck
    cara menggugurkan kandungan

    ReplyDelete
  6. Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletfactory-stores.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface-outlets.com.co

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardypopsale.com

    Coach Outlet Store Online http://www.coachstoreonline.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.in.net

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordansretro.us.com

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurses.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutlet2016.us.com

    Tory Burch Shoes http://www.toryburchoutlets.us.com

    Longchamp Outlet http://www.longchampoutlet.in.net

    Michael Kors Handbags http://www.innnov8.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.innnovate.com

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoes.us.org

    Moncler Jackets http://www.monclerdownjackets.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.us.com

    Moncler Outlet http://www.moncleroutletonline.in.net

    Coach Factory http://www.maganates.com

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactorysoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadesoutlet.us.com

    Ray Ban Outlet http://www.raybanoutletstore.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoes2016.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlets.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachoutletstore.name

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletonline.name

    Coach Outlet http://www.coach-outlets.us.org

    Nike Roshe Run http://www.tanie-nikerosherun.pl

    Buty Nike Air Max http://www.airmaxsprzedazdla.pl

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeairmax.us.org

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoe.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Outlet http://www.christianlouboutinoutlet.us.org

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciagaoutlets.us.com

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciaga-handbags.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    Toms Shoes http://www.tomshoesoutlet.us.com

    Hermes Belt http://www.hermes-belts.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradafactoryoutlet.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuittonsoutlet.us.com

    North Face Outlet Store http://www.northfaceoutletstore.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.north-face.in.net

    North Face http://www.north-faceoutlets.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuitton-outlets.us.org

    Timberland Boots http://www.timberland-outlets.us.com

    Cheap Timberland Boots http://www.timberlandoutlet.us.com

    Tory Burch Outlet http://www.toryburch-outlets.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlaurenstoreoutlet.us.com

    Gucci Shoes http://www.guccifactoryoutlet.name

    Gucci Outlet http://www.guccioutletinc.us.com

    North Face Jackets http://www.northfacefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradaoutlets.in.net

    Hollister Clothing http://www.hollister-clothing.us.com

    Ferragamo Shoes http://www.ferragamoshoes.us.org

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffany-outlets.us.com

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffanyco-outlet.us.com

    NFL Jerseys http://www.nfljerseys.name

    Toms Outlet http://www.outlettoms.us.com

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordans.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.thenorthfaceoutlet.us.org

    Prada Handbags http://www.pradaoutlet.us.org

    Chan Luu Sale http://www.chanluu.us.com

    Toms Outlet http://www.tomsoutletstores.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletofficial.us.com

    Beats By Dr Dre http://www.beatsbydrdre.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    ReplyDelete

Word verification won't bother you here!
Thank you for taking the time to comment! x

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...